Friday, November 6, 2009


An email sent just 5 minutes ago by Museum director Janice O'Donnell to our board and staff:

Subject: We won! Innovative leadership
Fri, 06 Nov 2009 18:13:51 -0500
From: Janice O'Donnell

I am proud to tell you that Providence Children's Museum has won the New England Museum Association's Leaders in Innovation Award!

The NEMA Leaders in Innovation Award recognizes New England museum programs and initiatives that advance the museum field in new and creative ways. Innovation can take many forms: an exhibit that conveys the story to visitors in an innovative way; cutting-edge systems for collections management; engaging communities with methods not traditionally used in museums...

The Museum's application for this award touted "The Power of Play: Innovations in Messaging the Mission," describing our mission-based initiatives and advocacy including the Play Power exhibit, play-focused programs, Museum-organized community conversations, the blog and articles, the PlayWatch listserv, etc. The judges found that:

The Power of Play has an integral connection with the Museum's mission and represents a long-term commitment to a broadly-conceived initiative... takes the museum's daily activities and puts them under a lens... engaging families and the community in the process. The project positions the museum as a leader in its field.
...the commitment to understand one's mission, core values and activities; to engage the public in this journey; and to utilize social media tools for these purposes is a commitment that museums of all budget sizes can emulate.

Megan and Cathy will accept the award at NEMA's annual conference next week and our work will be featured in upcoming NEMA publications and at the 2010 conference.

What I'm most proud of is this award recognizes the thoughtful, important work the Museum does every day and everyone of us – all staff and volunteers and AmeriCorps members and everyone – contributes to this work through deep commitment to our mission and to children and families. We all share this award – Congratulations!


No comments: